Backward class Commission Chairman to be appointed soon: Sajjad Lone



Srinagar, June 16 (GNS): Minister for Social Welfare,  Sajjad Gani Lone today informed the House that the villages of Sawani, Papri and Kanga in Ramban constituency have already been declared/ notified among the list of backward areas.

Replying to a question by Neelam Kumar Langeh, the Minister said that State Commission for Backward Classes has examined the villages of Seri, Marrog and Dhalwas of Ramban constituency for the socio-economic backwardness and were not found to meet the laid down parameters of backwardness. He said hence these villages are not considered for inclusion/declaration in the list of backward category.

The Minister said the cases for inclusion of villages Digdol, Karma and Sanasar are under examination. He said meanwhile, no representation has been received from villages of Gam, Panthyal and Kariya in the J&K State Commission for inclusion in Backward Category.

Responding to the supplementary raised by,  Mohammad Khalid Bandh, the Minister said that appointment of Chairman of J&K State Commission for Backward Classes would be made shortly and all issues pertaining to declaring backward areas would be sought out.  (GNS)