Cabinet approves establishment of J&K TPO, 2 Engg Colleges


SRINAGAR, State Cabinet, which met under the chairpersonship of Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti today, accorded sanction to the establishment of Jammu and Kashmir Trade Promotion Organization (JKTPO), two Engineering Colleges under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), creation of 3375 posts for five new Medical Colleges and implementation of Shetty Commission recommendations.
An official handout said that to promote handicrafts and handloom products within the country and globally,  the Cabinet accorded sanction to the incorporation of Jammu and Kashmir Trade Promotion Organization (JKTPO) under Section 8 of the Companies Act, 2013, as per the Law Department vetted Article of Association (AoA) and Memorandum of Association (MoA), having initial Share Capital of Rs 5 crore, as a Joint Venture Company between the Government of Jammu and Kashmir with 51% equity share, India Trade Promotion Organization (ITPO) with 44% equity share and Export Promotion Council for Handicrafts (EPCH) with 5% equity share.
The Joint Venture Company will promote, organize, manage and participate in handicrafts/ handlooms/industrial trade, other fairs and exhibitions in India and abroad and take all measures for promoting Industry especially in the State of Jammu and Kashmir and enhance its global competitiveness.
The Cabinet also gave nod to the establishment of two Government Colleges of Engineering and Technology under Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) by the State Higher Education Department, one each at Safapora in Ganderbal district and Janglot in Kathua district.
Even sanction was given to the creation of 136 posts— 68 for each college.  The Union Ministry of HRD has approved two Government Colleges of Engineering and Technology under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme RUSA for addressing critical gaps and spatial distribution higher educational institution across the State. The Union Ministry has sanctioned Rs 52 crore for establishment of infrastructure for both institutions, out of which 90 % will be Central share and 10% State share.
The two institutions are expected to meet the growing demand of technical / skilled manpower in the key sectors in the State i.e. Industry and Power.
Even sanction was accorded to the creation of 3375 posts of various categories for five Medical Colleges including creation of 2025 posts for Medical College at Rajouri, Baramulla and Anantnag and creation of 1350 posts to be operative in the financial year 2018-19 for Medical College, Kathua and Doda once they are established/sanctioned by the competent authority.