Governor chairs Security Review Meeting


Governor chairs Security Review MeetingGovernor chairs Security Review Meeting

SRINAGAR, MAY 16: Governor N. N. Vohra, who is also Chairman, Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board, chaired in a high level meeting at Raj Bhavan here today to review the varied security related matters in regard to the Shri Amarnathji Yatra which is scheduled to commence on 2nd July 2016, simultaneously from both the Baltal and Chandanwari routes.

The Governor stressed the need for all concerned agencies to enforce sustained close watch and maintain effective co-ordination to ensure the smooth conduct of the forthcoming Yatra. The meeting was attended by Chief Secretary and involved the seniormost officers of the Civil, Police, Central Armed Police, Military and Central and State Intelligence agencies.

The meeting held extensive discussions in regard to issues relating to the obtaining security environment in the State; preparedness for meeting any unforeseen situation arising in the Yatra area; functioning of the Joint Control Rooms at every Yatra Camp; linking up Joint Control Rooms with the MET Department and the District Disaster Management Units;  deployment of Mountain Rescue Teams (MRTs) of the State Police along with Rescue Teams of various Security Forces at identified locations on both the Yatra routes; deployment of well equipped Fire Fighting teams at pre-determined points; installation of X-Ray Baggage Scanning units at appropriate locations;  Access Control Arrangements at Neelgrath, Panjtarni and Pahalgam helipads; telecommunication facilities along the Yatra routes; etc.

The meeting discussed the enforcement of an effective Access Control System at the Baltal and Nunwan Base Camps and at the Domel and Chandanwari Access Control Gates; effective traffic regulation from Lakhanpur Check Post onwards through augmentation of the existing strength of Traffic Police; ATC arrangements for the heli-services from the Pahalgam and Baltal to Panjtarni; transit camps arrangements; installation of CCTVs at various Camps and at the Access Control Gates; etc.

The Governor directed DGP and the Divisional Administration to effectively enforce regulatory mechanisms and ensure that only those Yatris who possessed valid Yatra Permits were allowed to undertake the Yatra on the date and by the route for which they had procured Advance Registration. The meeting also discussed the specific measures which would be enforced for ensuring rapid and unhindered movement of validly registered Yatris right  from the time they crossed into the State and travelled to the Holy Cave, to ensure against their facing any avoidable inconvenience. He directed the Chief Secretary to issue clear directions to ensure that the road from Jammu to Srinagar and Srinagar to Baltal are maintained in proper condition for the smooth movement of  the pilgimage.

The Governor emphasized on all the involved agencies and departments to maintain very close co-ordination to ensure an incident free Yatra and directed the Addl. CEO, SASB to ensure simultaneous updating of all the concerned agencies about the weather forecasts. Divisional Commissioner (Kashmir) was directed to undertake regular reviews of the arrangements being made for the Yatra and effective discipline being maintained on the ground. The Governor particularly emphasized suitable stationing of medical teams of various organisations at appropriate places and distances along both the Yatra routes.

Maj. Gen. Ashok Narula, GOC, Hqrs, Victor Force, made a detailed presentation on the present status of snow accumulation in the Yatra Camps and along both the Yatra routes, measures being taken for Disaster Preparedness and Action Plan to secure the entire Yatra area.

The meeting was attended by  B.R. Sharma, Chief Secretary;   K. Rajendra Kumar, Director General of Police, J&K; Lt. Gen. Satish Dua, GOC, Hqrs. 15 Corps;  P. K. Tripathi, Principal Secretary to the Governor and Chief Executive Officer, Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board;  R.K Goyal, Principal Secretary Home;  S.M. Sahai, ADGP, CID, J&K;  Asgar Hassan Samoon, Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir;   Atul Karwal, IGP, CRPF, J&K;   Vikash Chandra, IG, BSF, Kashmir; Air Commodore Manoj Marathae, Air Officer Commanding, Air Force Station, Srinagar; Syed Javaid Mujtaba Gillani, Inspector General of Police, Kashmir, Srinagar;  seniormost officers of the Central Intelligence Agencies and  Jitendra K. Singh, Additional Chief Executive Officer, Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board.