Here’s how opposition parties observed ‘Aakrosh Diwas’ across country

New Delhi, The united Opposition was divided on the call for Bharat Bandh against the Narendra Modi government’s demonetisation order. While the Left parties, including the CPI-M and CPI, have called a 12-hour bandh to protest against demonetisation of old high-value currency notes, other opposition parties held protests in various parts of the country.

The Congress did not to go for a bandh but held protests nationwide. Senior party leader Jairam Ramesh said no ‘Bharat Bandh’ has been called by the party, which will however hold nationwide protests as part of ‘Jan Aakrosh Diwas’. The opposition parties have been divided over the ways to protest against demonetisation ever since Mamata Banerjee decided to march to the President against it earlier this month. While she was joined by Aam Aadmi Party, National Conference and Shiv Sena, an NDA ally, other opposition parties stayed away.

While various state units of the Congress party were protesting in their respective states, the MPs staged protest at Gandhi statue outside Parliament. The protest was led by Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi as part of the ‘Jan Aakrosh Divas’ observed across the country.

Many senior party leaders including Mallikarjun Kharge, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Veerappa Moily along with J P Yadav of RJD, Supriya Sule of NCP, Kanimozhi of DMK and Mohd Salim of CPI-M participated in the protest near Gandhi statute.

Congress leader Moily termed the Modi government’s move was a “fake fight and not a genuine fight against black money.”


Delhi Pradesh Committee held a march from Mandi House to Parliament House at 5 pm to protest against the poorly-implemented drive, which has caused unending misery to common people. The workers will march towards Parliament House by beating empty thalis as a symbolic act to wake up a sleeping Modi Government.