ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers: India announce 14-member squad, Mithali Raj to lead


New Delhi: Mithali Raj will lead a 14-member Indian squad to the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers to be held in Colombo from 3-21 February .

The Indian team last played in the Asia Cup T20 in Bangkok where they defended its title with an unbeaten run. Their two main players, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana, are currently playing the Big Bash in Australia.

India’s next big event will be the World Cup qualifier. They are in Group A alongside Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand while South Africa lead Group B comprising Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and PNG.

India will play a warm-up match against South Africa before their opening Qualifier against Sri Lanka on 7 February.

Each side will play four matches in the first round, following which the top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage, while also carrying forward points they earn against sides which have progressed to the Super Six stage from their group.