Maharashtra Civic Poll Results 2017 : Twist in BMC poll results as BJP emerges as `largest party`


Mumbai: Counting was underway on Thursday for polls to 10 civic bodies, including cash-rich BMC, and 25 zilla parishads and 283 panchayat samitis across Maharashtra, the results of which are likely to have a bearing on relations between BJP and Shiv Sena. The Congress and NCP are also in the¬†fray in the polls, dubbed as the ‘mini-general elections’.

The prime focus is on the cash-rich 227-member Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporationwith the ruling BJP and Shiv Sena at the forefront of this battle of might.

The results after the counting, which began at 10 am today, will determine the fate of 21,620 candidates for 5,777 seats up for grabs in the 10 municipal corporations, 25 zilla parishads and 283 panchayat samitis for which the elections were held in two phases.

Apart from Mumbai, the municipal corporations which went to the polls were Thane, Ulhasnagar, Nashik, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati, and Nagpur.