“Remembering Hiroshima and Nagasaki at Lok Sabha”


New Delhi, five Japanese Members of Parliament, including Mr. Shinjiro Koizumi, joined Ambassador Hiramatsu and the representatives of the Japanese community in Delhi for a visit to the Parliament to observe a minute of silence in remembrance of the victims of the atomic bombings in Hiroshima and Nagasaki at Lok Sabha.

Prior to the observance, the delegation paid a courtesy call on Honourable Speaker of Lok Sabha, Smt. Sumitra Mahajan. In the meeting, Ambassador Hiramatsu expressed Japan’s deep appreciation to this act of solidarity at the Parliament.

Mr. Koizumi, on behalf of other MPs (Mr. Hideki Murai, Mr. Norikazu Suzuki, Mr. Masanobu Ogura, and Mr. Fumiaki Kobayashi from Hiroshima),extended their sincere gratitude, telling the Speaker that it was a great honour for them to take part in such an extraordinary act by the Indian Parliament, which no one could probably find anywhere else in the world.